The AAJLJ presents an annual “Pursuit of Justice” award at a ceremony often held at the United States Supreme Court, to distinguished jurists and attorneys who exemplify the Biblical dictate, “Tzedek, tzedek tirdof,” “Justice, justice shall you pursue.”

Past recipients include U.S. Supreme Court Justices Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen Breyer and Elena Kagan and Israeli Supreme Court Justice Aharon Barak.

Past Pursuit of Justice Award Recipients

Justice Stephen Breyer

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Justice Elena Kagan

Hon. Aharon Barak

Benjamin Brafman

Thomas Buergenthal

Hon. Guido Calabresi

Michael Chertoff

Hon. Avern Cohn

Irwin Cotler

Stuart Eizenstat

Kenneth Feinberg

Hon. Judith S. Kaye

Peter Neufeld

Nathan Lewin

Hon. Jonathan Lippman

Martin Mendelsohn

Hon. Michael Mukasey

Jack Olender

Barry Scheck

Seth Waxman

Robert L. Weinberg

Simon Wiesenthal